Some countries have recently passed laws to restrict daily working hours of employees. Why did this happen? Explain whether this will have a positive or negative impact.

An increasing number of nations have recently enacted laws to define and regulate working hours for employed personnel. The main reasons behind this may be to prevent the exploitation of employees by management, as well as to provide them with a healthy work-life balance. This essay is of the opinion that these laws are a positive development, as they will protect the labour rights and improve employee-employer relationships. Before the existence of the working hours restrictions, a lot of organizations used to have unrealistically long working days, which would cause a lot of stress for the employees and impact their health. However, with the advancement of the reach of digital media, this type of unfair labour practice had been exposed to the world and garnered much criticism. At the same time, the employees had also started to protest against the excessive work time and fight for their rights. All these factors gave impetus to various national governments to sanction and enact laws that clearly stipulate the working hours for the employed persons, on a daily as well as weekly basis. Fair and equitable working hours should be a basic right of an employee. This also provides employees with workplace satisfaction and thus, enhances productivity. Moreover, since all attendance and employment time related procedures are conducted in accordance with the law, there is very little labour resentment. For example, an employee can opt for overtime and avail overtime pay, without being overworked, because the acts ensure optimum and reasonable total duty duration for the week. However, there should be some consideration given to situational variations. To elaborate on this, one may consider a start-up environment, where the employees are ready to have a 70 hours working week, to enhance the condition of the business. Ultimately, the laws must protect an employee’s rights to work hours. In conclusion, labour laws specifying maximum employment hours are in place to safeguard employee rights. If enacted properly, they can provide the employees more quality personal time, as well as minimise friction between the management and the workers.