Nowadays, many people have access to computers on a wide basis and a large number of children play computer games. Negative impacts? Solutions to minimize bad effects?

Thanks to the advances of technology, not only adults but also children may use computers on a daily basis. However, it is clear to see the increase in the number of children playing games. This essay will discuss the potential problems and give possible solutions for these issues. To begin with, two matters will arise when children spend plenty of time playing computer games. Firstly, it is easy for children to get distracted from their studies. In detail, the more time children spend on games, the less time they take to do their assignments. As a result, their self-study ability would decline, and they cannot focus on learning anymore. Secondly, playing computer games for a long time can negatively influence children’s health. Due to sitting in front of the computer too much without getting physical exercise, children would get a higher rate of getting health problems. According to research conducted by Harvard University, children who spend more than six hours playing games have more than 30% having obesity. To tackle these problems, parents can consider the following measures. Firstly, parents should restrict the time children can spend on computer games, and regard games as rewards when their offspring complete homework. This will create motivation for children to concentrate on their tasks until they finish all missions. Secondly, instead of taking games as a way for entertaining in free time, parents can replace and encourage their children to practice physical exercises or play sports such as volleyball, soccer, or badminton. It is also necessary for parents to get involved in these activities with their offspring. Consequently, parents and children can spend time together and fulfill excitement from real life rather than the virtual world. In conclusion, the decrease in the ability of self-study and health are the two problems arising from the topic; however, restriction and replacement can solve these issues. In my opinion, parents should spend their time playing with their children, too.