Some countries have come to rely on tourism as their major source of income. However, many people believe that the problems caused by tourism are more serious than those it has solved.

Today globalization is changing the world, and traveling has become cheaper than before. As its direct result, tourism industries are growing rapidly in many countries which has both positive and negative aspects; however, both sides will be discussed in the following paragraphs. To begin with, tourism industry has benefited not just travelers but also many other sectors like hotels, restaurants, travel and tours compares and so on. For instance, huge tourism activity around Sydney Opera house has added advantage to thousands of local business. Moreover, such a trend are very likely to promote employment opportunities. In Nepal, for instance, tourism industry has covered a significant portion of total employment. This trend is extremely crucial as it promotes the overall development of the country. The same industry, on the other hand, has some drawbacks. Firstly, growth in tourism means increase in the number of activities and more activity means pollution. To illustrate, there are piles of junk food plastics and bottles collected from Everest Base Camp because of high tourist activities. Another worrying point to not is, some natural heritages and resources are deteriorating as a result of such activity. Tourists love to visit such places resulting more locals to there to promote their business. Hence, natural resources are into chaos. In conclusion, I think the merits of tourism outweighs the demerits because it promotes employment to the locals and growth of other related sectors. Although it could leads to pollution and commence exploitation of natural resources, controlling activities like strong rules and emphasizing cleaning activities can help minimize the problems.