With the pressures on today’s young people to succeed academically, some people believe that nonacademic subjects at school (eg: physical education and cookery) should be removed from the syllabus so that children can concentrate wholly on academic subjects.

Few people believe that, success of the students in academics lies in removal of all non-academic related subjects like physical education from the syllabus. I strongly disagree with that point, because a student can be successful in life only when he is trained in all aspects not just in academics. While is success in academics is an important aspect, doing well in non-academics related subjects is equally valuable for any student or younger generation. Let us consider non-academic subject like physical education as an example, for youth it is probably the most important outdoor activity that they could undertake. For the mind to be active and to function at the desired level, physical activity plays a key role, it generates the positive vibes and it induces the self confidence in to the mind. Success of students or younger generation doesn’t always lie in academics, many of them might see their career in other means. So, forcing them to succeed only in academics doesn’t yield any positive results in the long run. My academic life is a perfect example on how the syllabus shouldn’t be like. The educational institution where I have studied had put all their efforts in pushing younger generation to be successful in academics, they gave the least importance on extracurricular activities. As a result, I couldn’t choose my career in my favorite sport ‘cricket’. To conclude, I disagree with the people who say that non-academic subjects should be removed from the curriculum. Whether is physical activity or cookery classes, they should have equal importance with the academics, this in turn reduces stress on younger generation, as a result, they might do well in all other aspects of life.