Some countries allow old people to work to any age that they want. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

At present, the number of elderly people working is considered to be increased in various countries. In response to this statement, the essay will elaborate on both benefits and drawbacks to maintain that choosing an absolute stance will undermine the issue’s complexity. To commence with, aged people with qualified skills play fundamental roles in particular jobs. Specifically, professors who usually are over 55 years old are beneficial for scientific developments. Being an expert in a specific field required lots of hard studying and experienced working time spanning over 30 years, as a result, they need a longer time to work than other occupations to contribute to the scientific developments. An extensive survey conducted by Harvard University in 2019 reported that 67% of physical researchers and scientists received patents as well as gained the highest citation publications award after they were 60 years old. Therefore, elderly employment is necessary in some specific occupations. On the other hand, the phenomenon of old working ages could bring drawbacks to social balancing. Due to the limitation of job opportunities, people work longer could increase highly competition in the landscape of exponential population growth. Fresh graduates may be deprived of the chance to work by elderly people, thus it links to the high rate of unemployment and other social problems. For instance, in Japan, when the government executed the labor law that employees retired after 65 years old since 2015, the unemployment rate in 2017 surged 12% compared to 5% in the previous years. Thus, the government should consider the extension of employment ages. In conclusion, the essay has maintained an impartial stance due to the byzantine nature of this issue: on the one hand, elderly employees are beneficial in some particular jobs; on the other hand, the extension of working ages could deprive the job opportunities for the youngster, which influenced on social problems.