Some Companies have uniforms for their staff which must be worn all the time. What are the advantages for a company of having a uniform? Are there any benefits or drawbacks of having a uniform for the staff?

Wearing professional attire in the workplace is mandatory for the employees of a few organisations. This trend of formal uniforms has both the merits and demerits. I am going to explain the pros and cons of wearing uniforms and how it is beneficial for the companies in the upcoming paragraphs. To begin with, it can be beneficial for a company in many ways. First, coordinated outfit can promote the brand name and it can make the company widely known amongst the general public. Secondly, it can increase the band's recognition and it will certainly boost the sales and revenue. For instance, Zara is one of the retail companies where uniforms for employees is necessary, but at the same time their customers like the employees' uniforms as well. In addition to this, whenever Zara has sales they put the employee uniform from past seasons on sale and customers always purchase those uniforms. The obligation of wearing coordinated outfits everyday can reduce the productivity of an employee. This means, some workers do not want to wear the uniform that their companies require them to wear as the uniform might not suit their body shape. Therefore they might feel uneasy at work which in turn can hamper their performance at work. Additionally, seeing everyone in the same colour or dress every day can make a company’s working atmosphere dull and boring. People may not feel energetic in such a monotonous space which can certainly affect the overall efficiency of an establishment. However, these drawbacks associated with the wearing of uniforms can be reduced to a great extent by allowing the employees to choose the uniforms they want to wear. On the other hand, one of the many advantages of wearing uniform is that it can save the money and time of employees. This is because they do not need to waste their time while choosing a different dress for their workplaces everyday and also they can save a huge amount of money by not purchasing too many items of clothing. Furthermore, there are companies who make new uniforms for their employees every season. For example, Zara is one of those companies who make new uniforms for their employees every season, so that they cannon feel bored with wearing same thing again and again for a longer time period. To sum up, I personally believe that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages because it saves a lot of time and money for the employees and it also maintains a professional dignity in front of the customers.