Some cities have vehicle-free days when private cars, trucks and motorcycles are banned from the city centre. People are encouraged to use public transportation such as buses, taxis and metro on vehicle-free days.

Importance of public transportation is increasing day by day. As a fact, local authorities of few areas have imposed restrictions for the use of private vehicles on the chosen days for entry inside town. Additionally, guideline ensures that use of public transportation is promoted. I feel this move will be more benefitting to society and reasons behind are discussed in this essay. In general, imposing any kind of restrictions can create chaos in the city. In other words, if major population of a city is rushed towards bus or metro stations, it may create situation of disarray which may have complicative implications. Additionally, even drivers will form union if public becomes non-cooperative due to any government rules. For instance, 30% of cream crowd living a posh life may never opt for taking a metro due long queues and hassle. While such guidelines can control pollution to an extent. For a case, if 3-5 days of a month is a compulsory public transport day then due to less engine combustions, air quality can be improved. Moreover, use of electric metro saves fuel burning and emission of Carbon and Sulphur can be reduced. According to recent study, more than 60% of air quality is degraded due to smoke from vehicles which can be reduced to an extent by either use of renewable energy or by reducing amount of component creating substances or products. Another positive effect of such guidelines is on traffic congestion. Not only traffic in City Centre shall be reduced but it controls traffic of highways and other areas also. In addition to that, we all know that traffic leads to many fatal accidents where movement of public is more and ultimately by reducing number of vehicles such injuries can be prevented. For example, 70% of people are always stuck in traffic during the day which is a total waste of time. Thus, advantages outweigh disadvantages in many ways. It is recommended that every city in the world should form such guidelines for saving climate and for safety of human lives.