Do you agree with the below statement ? A zoo serves no purpose.

I do agree that a Zoo has its useful purpose. It provides an opportunity for human beings to interact with wild animals besides other purposes. However, there are counter views questioning its use. Firstly, Zoos provide a safe environment for endangered species, offer professionally run breeding programs, and some of them have rehabilitation programs for creatures going back to the wild forests. Secondly, Most of us cannot afford to go to forests and even if we go once or twice during our lifetime, we cannot see many wild species whereas at Zoo we can see most of them. They will also house species brought from different parts of the world, thereby providing opportunities for visitors to see them. Thirdly, Zoological parks are a source of income for governments and provide employment opportunities for few people. They also serve as recreational places for visitors and in particular for children. On the other hand, some contrasting views, such as Cages and enclosures, are small for animals. They suffer cruelty at the hands of zookeepers, staff, or visitors. They should live in their natural habitat instead of a place like Zoo. Holding them in captivity is wrong. A Zoo is an artificial environment that constrains an animal’s natural behaviour. People will not respect them and tease them as they are in cages. In conclusion, and based on the above viewpoints, I agree that zoos serve a great purpose. Nevertheless, concerns raised through counter views are valid to an extent. Governments can address these concerns through stringent laws, providing an environment that is as close as possible to the animal’s natural habitat.