Some believe that the Olympic games help bring people from different nations together, while others claim that holding the Olympics wastes money which could be used for important issues.

Importance of hosting the Olympic Games have sparked a heated debate all around the globe. While some claim that it promotes universal unity, others consider it to be an unnecessary expense which otherwise would have been invested to solve crucial issues. I strongly advocate the latter view, however, both sides of the argument have been discussed in the essay below. Firstly, world is facing numerous global issues at this point that allocating funds for Olympic Games seems to be a trivial expense. It is far more urgent to invest funds on education of unprivileged, security, environmental protection, housing, employment and healthcare. It is completely unjustifiable to spend money on building a fancy stadium for sports when a part of our community cannot afford a roof above their head. Moreover, there are number of other productive ways to promote the universal unity, for example, countries can come together and pool their resources to combat global warming, pandemic, space research, etc. However, opponents can argue that Olympic Games promotes healthy lifestyle by motivating people to learn and play sports. Also it is a good recreational activity to watch a sports games with your family and friends. It also flourishes the tourism industry as many foreigners visit the country which can have a positive impact on economy of the country. Even the local businesses like hotels, shops and restaurants proliferate during these times. Also, the local culture and food gets the limelight all around the globe. To recapitulate, although Olympic Games can give a boost to local businesses and economy of the country, I strongly feel that funds utilized for such games can be efficiently channelized towards more crucial global issues like healthcare or environmental problems.