Some believe that technology is increasing the gap between rich and poor people, while others think that it has opposite effects.

The rapid development of technology has gone a long way towards improving humanity’s living standard. Beneficiaries of modern technology have always been controversial. Despite the increased life quality, some argues that technology has created unusual gaps among the social hierarchy while others reject this notion. Although the latter view is justifiable to a certain extent, I lean towards the former. On the one hand, technology plays an important role in abridging the gap between the prosperous and the needy. Gaining access over the internet has created great opportunities for poor people to obtain similar levels of education to the rich ones. Poor students, who are not capable of affording multiple tuition fees, can study by themselves through the internet. Besides, by breaking the geographical barrier, online courses, contributes to help unlucky children develop their abilities and have bright future. On the other hand, expensive modern gadgets has become unaffordable for destitute people, and thus, increasing the distance between the poor and the rich. While the rich benefits from advanced treatments such as implanting special protein which costs only a small portion of their income, such treatments seem overwhelming to the poor. The wealthy residents’ living standard, thereby, has witnessed significant improvements, whereas low-income citizens are still struggling to remain healthy due to the unaffordable medical fees. Moreover, as technical development for vehicles grow better overtime, there has been also an increase in prices, making convenient transportations out of the poor’s reach. Instead of spending an hour commuting to work by bike, the higher class can save their travel time to other important task when driving car, which make them more productive than the lower class. In conclusion, although technology benegited humanity by provinding widespread information on the internet, it has increase the gap between the prosperous and the needy due to its exhorbitant price.