Some people strongly oppose animal experimentation, believing that it causes pain to animals, while some other people consider it necessary. What is your opinion?

No subject in modern society is as controversial as animal-based experiments. While a number of people criticize animal testing and believe they merit humane treatment, I am of the opinion that these tests are essential to the well-being of both human beings and that of animals. First of all, there is little doubt that many experiments make huge contributions to technology developments, and to date, there is little chance of finding an alternative approach. Indeed, animals are often used in health care and to increase life expectancy since they bear a striking resemblance to humans, either in cell structure or in behaviors. To be more specific, they respond to external disturbances such as electrical shock nearly in the same manner as humans do. As a result, these tests become the main approach to anticipate risks when new products or drugs are prepared as medicine for humans. Another fact supports animal-based experiments is that animals are not equivalent to humans and they can be utilized as resources for humans’ sake. Obviously, animals have no capacity to take into consideration the rights and interests of other species, which is the reason why they feed on each other. Humans, on the other hand, conduct animal testing not only for their own sake but also for the benefit of other species. For instance, multiple medical achievements are applied in veterinary surgeries to give medical treatment and medicine to sick animals. Despite the justification given for vivisection, scientists have obligations to reduce animal testing as well as their suffering. In fact, there is a growing recognition that the majority of these tests are being exploited for commercial purposes. For example, the cosmetic industry is diversifying products and maximizing profits by slaughtering numerous animals. However, this circumstance can be ceased only if scientists do not abuse their power by conducting cruel experiments for unessential objectives. In summary, one can subscribe to the notion that animals are resources intended for the sake of humanity, although it is certain that suffering should be controlled to the minimum during experimentation.