Some believe that low lasting products waste natural and physical resources. Howeverr

We use numerous products in our day to day life. Some products are related to our basic necessities while some are amenities that make our lives comfortable. Besides satisfying the utility, we also want products to be durable. But in many cases the actual lifetime of a product can be less than the expected. Many may opine this as inefficient use of resources. However, I tend to believe that manufacturers sometimes compromise with the longevity of products to maintain the cost and also to ensure continuous demand. In case of many products, to make those longer lasting, the production process requires either more resources or relatively scarce resources. Both of the options may cause additional costs. As a result, the final product may have a price which is out of the range of a large group of buyers. There are some products which are purchased only when the earlier one is not usuable anymore. In such cases, extremely durable products may lower the growth in overall market demand over time as there would be limited number of consumers who might need a new product. Technological products get updated in a higher frequency than other products. Such products become obsolete when newer technologies are introduced. As a result, optimal durability ensures regular upgradation. Purchasing products certainly involve money spent by the buyer. For this, the durability of a product should be such that satisfies most of the customers, if not everyone. On the other hand, this should also be cost efficient and financially viable for the producers.