As most people spend a major part of their adult life at work, job satisfaction is an important element of individual wellbeing. What factors contribute to job satisfaction? Pay and recognition Why these would be factors?

Occupation pleasures play a key role in one’s life span in the line of working environment and it is considerably crucial to have a healthy life. This essay will be on reasons for job satisfaction and whether all employees are happy with their job. Revenue and recognitions are the two key elements which make people do more than what is expected. A monthly wage is considered to boost the living conditions and people would do almost anything to up skill their livelihood. Recognition is another factor which makes people would seek from their bosses and at sometimes they would not receive. A simple thank you or a tap on the back would create a good impression, feel appreciated and create awareness. For example, according to the Central Bank of Sri Lanka every organisation must increase their employee’s monthly salary by 4% and annual recognition celebrations are strictly adhered. However, there are number of staffs at any given time they are unhappy due to various other reasons. There are instances employees are dissatisfied on demotions, disciplinary actions taken again them. Which at times end up in termination from employment. For instance, a paper article on Business Times mentions that annually 20-30 staff members resign from their job due to various different reasons and specially highlighted on misbehaviour. In conclusion, working conditions must be at highest stage at workplaces such as, worker’s month pay and recognition which are the most important factors which create pleasure doing a job. Furthermore, not all employees are glad all the time of the working periods.