Some believe that it is beneficial to show foreign films while others feel this can have a negative impact on local culture.

There has been much debate concerning the adverse consequences of broadcasting overseas movies on local culture. Some people believe imported films have detrimental effects on local culture, while others disagree. This essay disagrees that overseas movies have drawbacks to origin culture for the following reasons. To begin with, it might be claimed that watching imported films could sway younger generations in preserving local culture. This is because children might imitate the scenes showed in foreign movies, which are probably completely different and banned in their culture. For instance, scene related to the use of guns which commonly appears in Hollywood Movies, because gun ownership is legal in the USA, but it is not in the South East Asian Countries. Therefore, youngsters in ASEAN countries could find an illegal way to own gun and use it in the similar way they watched from Hollywood movies’ scene. On the other hand, I strongly believe that overseas movies have greater number of positive consequences for general public for two reasons. Firstly, people could broaden their knowledge regarding other cultures, take the positive moral messages, and then apply them for a self-development. For instance, adolescents in other countries could adapt the Japanese students’ reading habit which tend to spend longer hours daily to read rather than doing any other pastimes activities. Secondly, foreign films could be an interesting and easier method for young adults to learn other cultures effectively than learning from books at school. Furthermore, children could also learn foreign languages from movies at the same time. In conclusion, even though overseas movies could affect young people in a negative way primarily in terms of culture, it could be tackled by monitoring children’s behavior periodically by parents. On the other hand, imported films have enormous benefits such as they could broaden people knowledge of other cultures in an interesting way and adopt the positive aspects to people’s life.