Society is based on rules and laws. If individuals were free to do whatever they want to do, it could not function. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the above statement?

The crucial part of society is formed by legislations and regulations which are applied on the daily basis. However, it is somewhat believed that by living a virtuous life, people’s desires and behaviors would be restricted down. I am completely against the stated idea for letting loose of such actions when laws exist to protect its citizens and fundamental human right. To begin with, the laws are the key to the functioning and implementation towards a better society. Furthermore, such steps are taken as a serious matter, preventing all the citizens from being killed, harmed in any possible risks. For instance, if somebody perpetrates crimes involved in murdering or attempt murder, they will be sentenced for life or executed, whether or not they have political power or money. Thus, laws play a critical role in securing the neighborhood from criminals and severe crimes. Moreover, rules and laws also help in making peace within the nations. First, no bloody civil wars because it would against the laws so that all the citizens could enjoy their freedom of choice, freedom of religion, and live a wonderful life without being forced to protect themselves all the time. Second, laws protect each individual themselves. In other words, they act as a guide to safety, for the people around them and most importantly, for them. Taking driving as an example. There is a rule that forbids drivers to drink before driving, and if caught or made any accidents while having alcohol, they will be forced to ban their driving license. TO summarize, the establishment of legislations and regulations can help directing actions and behaviors of the people in it and should be strictly followed and obliged in order to create a peaceful living.