Society is based on rules and laws. If individuals were free to do whatever they want to do, it could not function. with the above statement?

Rule of law is the basis for civilization globally. It is the opinion of many that if there were no laws and people had absolute freedom, society cannot function smoothly. I agree to a certain extent with this statement. Laws are the cornerstone upon which civilization is built and the legal field is a product of necessity since society requires rules and regulations to ensure a level of rights and liberties to its constituent subjects. A society without laws will be in a state of anarchy and disarray. For example, in a movie called “The Purge”, where a fictional society suspends all its laws for one day, thereby plunging the society into disarray and providing a glimpse of what civilization would be without any regulations. Also, laws guarantee everyone with liberty and equality globally and protect the rights conferred by it to its citizens. The citizenry is expected to follow these rules and ensure the continued existence of the welfare state. However, most legal edicts do not grant people the freedom they aspire for. Since several laws globally have not caught up with society's recent developments, some of them have become restrictive and outdated. Hence, the scope for liberties ought to be revised in light of recent developments. In addition to this, the necessity to expand the scope of liberties has also been recognized by judicial systems internationally. For example, the Supreme Court of India has recognized and revised civil liberties consistently over the last 50 years. To conclude, a lack of regulation would push the human race into a state of anarchy and threaten the existence of our species. However, increased liberty from the law would allow humans to continue their development.