Advantages and disadvantage of leaving your country to live or study abroad

Nowadays, many people tend to leave their country to live or study abroad. Research conducted by Harvard University in 2019 indicated that 45% of the student population in the United States have the intention to pursue an international experience, a trend expected to increase in the following years. Despite several reasons people gravitate toward going abroad, in this essay, I will describe in detail some pros and cons of doing so. One of the main advantages of living or studying abroad is the opportunity to gain a clearer sense of the self. Getting out of the comfort zone enables people to explore alternative scenarios, to identify and embrace what they enjoy or dislike. But most importantly, to be amazed by their capabilities. Besides, many who have gone abroad appear to develop superior problem-solving skills as they learn to think out of the box. When surrounded by different perspectives, political and cultural frameworks, people gather more information and seek more alternatives to solve a problem. There is no denying that moving abroad implies some disadvantages too, such as the language barrier and the cultural-distance, many describe how this cultural misunderstanding can lead people to feel like an outsider and helpless. Furthermore, going abroad can be expensive for some due to currency differences. Unfortunately, some will have to duplicate their efforts to save enough money to pay their bill since their currency is undervalued. To sum up, like all situations in life, going abroad has several advantages and disadvantages, and it is up to people to decide whether to have a go or not. In my opinion, it seems to bring to the table more pros than cons, and that’s the reason why a vaster number of people are doing it every day. In my experience, it is all about attitude; people can overcome cultural-distance by being open-minded and willing to adapt. Finally, further financial aid and programs are available compared to the past, such as loans, scholarships, government initiatives like Erasmus, etc.