Q: In some parts of the world it is becoming popular to research the history of one’s own family. Why might people want to do this? Is it a positive or negative development?

Genealogy is not a new field and people, especially the noble class, have always been keen on knowing more about the history of their families and ancestors. However, it has recently enjoyed more popularity with many ordinary people, especially in the western world, trying to fill in the gaps in their family trees; a trend I personally disapprove of. One reason many people are curious about their family history these days is that it is often fun to trace back one’s bloodline and find out if one is related to any famous people. I remember a recent story about how a common supermarket clerk in Nevada was discovered to be a descendant of a British king. Many such descendants live completely ordinary lives, to which a discovery like that can bring many thrills. Additionally, it would definitely help people to realize how their families have changed though the years and, therefore, learn a thing or two about the causes of failure and prosperity in different generations. Nevertheless, many individuals who find themselves related to the nobility tend to consider tiny shares of noble blood as birthright to more respect. They, for instance, often demand seats in public transport when there are more deserving people like pregnant women or the elderly aboard. Apart from that, some of them might overgeneralize the role of factors which have contributed to a former generation’s condition, be it inherited wealth or even bad luck, to their own and disregard the value of their own ideas, efforts and current status. In conclusion, I am not sure if the growing trend towards researching one’s ancestors and family line is actually helping people and the society in general, and believe it must be discouraged.