Society advances most when people break from the traditions of their predecessors.

Going through years of history, people gradually developed many aspects of their life by following the traditions and learned from the previous generations. Meanwhile, nowadays, some people believe that trying new things and breaking traditions is beneficial to society. I don't completely agree with this statement. We all knew that tradition is included all the experiences, feelings, understanding, … which are accumulated throughout the years. People base on that not only to improve the limitations but also bring into play the positive aspect of modern society. Moreover, tradition also represents the cultural, spiritual, and core values of a nation. Without these traditions, we completely lost an opportunity to make something unique. For instance, although having thousands of years of civilization, Vietnamese people still try to uphold all the national traditions which are bequeathed by ancestors, such as Ao dai, pho, . . . As a result that we should continue preserving and upholding these nice traditions. Despite the many advantages that long traditions bring to society, there are still some drawbacks. Time goes by, everything continuously changes, so that some old rules and cultures may be no longer suitable for the present generation. Consequently, many young people don’t agree with those old rules and controversies arise. So that some changes are inevitable. For example, in the past, women didn’t equalize as men were. But these conceptions became outdated so that people changed their minds little by little. And nowadays, we witness many successful women who are talented, intelligent, and kind. However, we shouldn’t change our traditions so much because it may lead to many other negative consequences. In conclusion, society needs both traditions and innovations for sustainable development. We should uphold profitable traditions and change what is unsuitable. So that we can create together a whole new better society.