Does media influence violence

Novels and TV series about crime are showing tendency of growing popularity in many nations. Writers and producers see a demand and they try to fulfill it, however, I think this genre implements some serious problems in society. First of all, crime genre encompasses not only crime scenes, but also action and peril which increases adrenaline release in the brain of spectator. This human nature which seeks some rise in adrenaline levels carves us to watch or read more and more crime related shows and literature. Producers and writers know about this behaviour of consumers and try to keep them watching and reading products of mentioned genre more frequently. For example, a scientific research among crime genre lovers in the USA has concluded that there is a similar motions in brain while watching crime genre and smoking. They are both involving same area of brain which is dependent on our habits. There can be drawbacks of exposure to crime genre in a long term. Psycology of observers, especially if they are children, can be damaged by seeing or reading about criminal activities. They could come familier with weapons, illegal acts and drugs, which could be settled in their subconscious as normal things. For instance, a recent research indicates that in Turkey the number of criminal bands has increased, after a decade an organised crime drama “Valley of the Wolfs” was released. In conclusion, it’s normal to see crime novels on bookshelfes and crime dramas on TVs as they are produced to supply the demand. However, there must be a controlled airtime for series and quota for books of this genre.