Social media is increasingly being used by all age groups around the world to form new connections and keep up with friends and family. However, in sharing our information to make connections, we sacrifice privacy and put ourselves at risk of identity theft and government monitoring.

Social media is a very well known tool which help our daily lives. As one of the application of technology invention, social media has abundance users globally which keep people in touch with others within seconds. However, too much information leaked out and affect people’s privacy bring out pros and cons of social media. In this essay, I would like to outline and elaborate whether social media’s development prompt advantages or the opposite. To begin with, social media allows people to gain connections internationally, despite distance or time barrier, which are a great advantages for the society. For instance, the global community will widen our networking which gather people with same interests in order to build up discussions. Besides, social media will provide new informations and trend which may be our inpiration in expanding business and hold a marketing purposes. On the contrary, global networking which could be access easily only by mobile phones or internet may expose the risk of data leaked. People will be more concern of the identity privacy since more information gets placed online especially on their social media, there will be risen danger of identity fraud, scamming, and malicious spam into our private data. Moreover, using the internet means we leave a data trail behind which may lead to several attempts of phising, malware sharing, or cyber attacks. For example, when our data are leaked trough hacking attempts, some irresponsible individuals may use this opportunity to theaten the data’s owner. To conclude, the advantages of social media would not be outweighed by the disadvantages as long as the users provide not too much information on their identity. The social media users need to be wise in order to secured their private data and keep by theirselves. I believe that social media will continuosly bring convinience for the society.