Social media is becoming increasingly popular amongst all age groups. However, sharing personal information on social media websites does have risks. Do you think that the advantages of social media outweigh the disadvantages?

There are many debates these days about sharing personal information on social media platforms, some people think that it has risks whereas others believe it is normal and natural. In my opinion, advantages of social media outweigh disadvantages and I will explain them with related examples in my essay. Due to the rapid development of technology and the internet, social media is getting so popular. Almost every person from all age groups has at least one social media account and they use it actively. They share some personal information such as date of birth, home address, phone number and photos or videos about their life and if they do not use a private account every individual can reach these information easily. Therefore, some people believe that it is dangerous and has risks especially if their followers or stalkers are malicious and tend to commit crime. However, even sharing personal information has disadvantages, they may prevent it by using private accounts and there are also many advantages of social media. For example, thanks to Whatsapp people can keep in touch with their relatives and friends in a second even though they have long distance relationships. They can share their daily life, or get more social. Moreover, Instagram is not only for sharing photos but also selling products, many small businesses use Instagram for online sale and they reach more customers. Thanks to that they have a chance to increase their profits and sales. To sum up, as it can be seen from the above examples, advantages of social media outnumber disadvantages. I believe if we use social media properly we can avoid its drawbacks, therefore; we should change the privacy settings.