An increase in the production of consumer goods is damaging the environment. What are the causes behind this environmental damage and how this problem can be solved?

Nowadays, to meet the excessive demand of food, people tend to pollute the environment. While deforestation and uncontrolled use of synthetic chemical is the cause, there is one viable solution that could reduce the environmental damage, such as advancement on agricultural sector. To begin with, to produce more food, people need more land to cultivate. But they do not have enough land to fulfill the demand. As a result, they deforest the land and turn the forest to agricultural farm. For example, a recent study showed that in 2000, there was about 30% agricultural farm, whereas 70% land was claimed as forest. But in 2010, after 10 years, agricultural land was increased to 45% and on the other hand, forest land decreased to 55%. Another reason that also can cause environmental damage is unbalanced use to chemical. People use synthetic chemicals to fertile the land that can produce more crop. This lead to the damage of the ecosystem of the nature. For instance, a study conducted by the Agricultural Society, claimed that in 2000, the use of chemical compounds in agricultural sector was about 10% but in 2010, it increased to 23%. Technical improvement in agricultural sector may save this problem. For example, hydroponic, is the technique, by which pant can grow without soil and fertilizer. Sun light and enough water is the main requirement of this process. Though, this process does not need soil and chemical compound, reduce the use of land as well as inorganic fertilizer. In conclusion, for cultivation, to produce more crops to comply the demand, increase the farm land by cutting the trees as well as to increase the soil fertility by using chemical soil fertilizer are the main causes of environmental destruction and it can be handled by introducing hydroponic technique in farming.