Social media is becoming increasingly popular amongst all age groups. However, sharing personal information on social media websites does have risks. Do you think that the advantages of social media outweigh the disadvantages. v. 16

In the era of information technology, social network such as Facebook or LinkedIn has been commonly used for most people without age limit. Although there are a plethora of drawbacks to use social media, especially the threats of information leak, I absolutely believe that its benefits surpass its adverse effects. First, it is needless to say that media platforms can cause a variety of disadvantages. Social networking websites are easy for scammers to commit fraudulent activities, which are considered high-potential risks in using the internet. These hackers can create software installed in social media platforms in order to steal user’s information. For example, applications that require privacy permission to log in user accounts are usually implicit dangers of collecting data. In addition, sharing private life online is difficult to prevent search engines and enterprises from tracking customer’s behavior. Social media sites can use their tracking system to recognize what user bought, how they felt about specific items, which pages they were interested in, and a plethora of other user behavior streams. On the other hand, we must admit that social network sites play a prominent role in all sectors of life. They are effective methods of communication that helps people not only keep in touch with their current relationships but also broaden networks. Thanks to Facebook, LinkedIn, and other social platforms, the world seems flatter due to the fact people can stay connected with the rest of the world in a number of mouse clicks. The other thing listed as its beneficial side is that people can expand the horizons by updating and sharing cutting-edge news about society, technology, and their interests on networking websites. Many teenagers, officers, and even retired workers have owned social media accounts to participate in various groups and follow pages they are keen on. without social media websites, communication would not be as easy as it is, nor personal viewpoint expression could meet a plethora of barriers. In conclusion, while we face serious problems of information security on social media sites, it is undoubted that the beneficial sides of it still overshadow its demerits.