In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centres to do their shopping. Is this a positive or a negative development?

A number of local brick-and-mortar stores have closed lately because consumers prefer shopping in large malls increasingly more. Even though in theory smaller shops have the opportunity to move to malls, in reality it is not possible for them to sustain ruthless competition there, which brings the national economy to the brink of failure in the long run. The real estate market is saturated with huge shiny shopping malls that have proved to yield record profits compared to traditional local shops. It is for the reason that malls offer a much more streamlined shopping experience to consumers - allowing to make various kinds of purchases in one place without travelling across the city. However, with this seemingly advantageous opportunity customers are also manipulated by the carefully curated atmosphere in shopping centres that coaxes them into buying much more than planned or needed. Take a standard mall as an example - one can usually find there a food court, attractions for children, a long array of boutiques and a cinema only to entice consumers to stay longer and spend more. At the same time, conventional stores constitute the basis of the national economy, providing possibilities of self-realization for entrepreneurs who otherwise would not want to be regularly employed by a corporation. Furthermore, should consumers seek a diverse choice of products, it is not a good idea to shop in a mall where merchandise looks very similar across major brands. To illustrate, brick-and-mortar stores offer niche items that are much less likely to be worn by the majority of citizens like Zara clothes. In conclusion, there has been a negative trend for trade monopolisation because of the worsening rivalry local shops have to face from large brands. Hence, the closure of high street stores will result in consumers having to spend overall more money on shopping, while not necessarily being provided with a larger choice of goods.