Social media is becoming increasingly popular amongst all age groups. However, sharing personal information on social media websites does have risks. Do you think that the advantages of social media outweigh the disadvantages?

It is a known fact that use of social networking platforms is increasing at a tremendous pace across the globe. Some people believe that they are very beneficial to the society at large while others argue that they have some associated risks. This essay will argue that the advantages of this outweigh the drawbacks. The essay will first demonstrate that the social media acts as a bridge between the friends and the relatives and also provide lots of information about the events taking place around the world, followed by an analysis of how the primary disadvantage, namely, threat to personal information is not valid. To commence with the explanation, plethora of reasons can be put forward to why some people deduce that social networking platforms are very significant in today's age. First and foremost, it helps us to communicate with our friends and relatives living in any corner of the world in an easy and economical manner. These platforms helps us to maintain a continuous bond with our friends and relatives as we are able to see what is happening in there life from the updates on their profiles. In addition to these, social media provides us with live updates about the events that are taking place in different parts of the world. For instance, when tremors of earthquake were felt in Rajasthan and Delhi, this occurrence started trending on Twitter immediately. Those opposed to this say that there is a risk of theft or impersonation if personal information is shared on these websites. This is because many incidents have been recorded in the past wherein, by using the personal information from the social media platforms, people were cheated or harassed. Recently, a girl faced lot of difficulties just because she shared the photos of her boarding pass on her social media platform. Someone used the PNR number, and cancelled her flight ticket. She got to know about this when she went for boarding the flight. However, these types of incidents can be avoided just by avoiding sharing of sensitive information on of these websites. On balance, the fact that social networking platforms helps us to communicate with our friends and relatives and also provides plenty of information clearly outweighs the flawed argument that it may be a threat for the society at large.