Social media is becoming increasingly popular amongst all age groups. However, sharing personal information on social media websites does have risks. Do you think that the advantages of social media outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In today's era, advancement in the internet and technology has given many gifts to us, and one of them is social media websites. Subsequently, these online platforms have become a part of our daily life irrespective of age group. While it opens up myriad opportunities for common people, at the same time, there are several risks associated with sharing our private life in social media. Personally, these websites have many salient features like it allows us to meet new people, showcase our talent and promote our businesses, which helps millions of people in many ways, though we need to be very careful while surfing on these websites, as many anti-social elements can take advantages of these platforms. On the one hand, there are many risks associated with these online platforms. The most prominent one is the privacy of data; no one is very sure about their personal data, whether they are secured or not. Daily, we hear about news of scams, online frauds and even personal moments, and profile pictures shared on these websites of being misused. Hence, one needs to be very careful while sharing any information to someone through these platforms, and they should report to concern authorities like cybercrime board to report any scam or fraud. On the other hand, today we can connect to any part of the globe, by clicking a few buttons on our smartphones or computers. Now, we even do not need to come out of our offices to advertise our business, and common people can become a celebrity overnight by taking advantages of online platforms like Facebook, Instagram and Twitter. Justin Bieber, for instance, got recognition by sharing his singing videos on Youtube which work went viral on various social media websites. Hence, by seizing the online opportunities wisely, one can get global recognition for their brands or themselves very easily. In conclusion, there are online threats which can hamper one’s personal or professional life. However, at the same time, it opens up the door of freedom and opportunities to express yourself, views and talent to the mass. It is the responsibility of people to use social media wisely and concerning authorities should monitor and take strict action if reported any cybercrime.