Social media is becoming increasingly popular amongst all age groups. However, sharing personal information on social media websites does have risks. Do you think that the advantages of social media outweigh the disadvantage

There is no doubt that advancement in modern technology has completely evolved the way information is shared and processed. However, some people think that it is not safe to share personal data online. I personally thinks that merits of social sites are more than its demerits. Firstly, communication has improved significantly with the advent of social media sites. As it becomes much more easier to interact with someone from any part of the world with the help of social tools like WhatsApp, Facebook, twitter and so on. Moreover, this tools also helps to reach wider audience and in this way retailer, manufacturers can advertise their product or service to millions of people with no cost. Secondly, social media made it possible to buy and sell things online, which is a great blessing in today’s working environment as both men and women are working and did not have enough time to do basic things such as going to store to buy groceries and shopping. Thus, social websites is a real boon and we cannot imagine our life without it. However, one cannot denied from the fact that online tools has my dire consequences as it is more prone to scams and scandals. It can be pernicious to share personal information on websites as there are chances that it can be stealed by website hackers who can use the information for personal benefits. To illustrate this, In March 2020 CERB is provided by the Canadian government to support workers who have lost their job due to covid-19. Website hacker took advantage of it by hijacking individual’s CRA account and obtained money from other person identity, even without their knowledge. So, we must be careful while giving personal detail on online sites. In conclusion, social media improves communication and comparatively reduces workload from past but one must be carefully evaluated any site before using any website as there are chances that information can be stolen by scammers.