Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out.

These days, it can be definitely said that English is the most global language all over the world because of the development of industry and globalization. So, I can totally agree with the opinion that it is essential for us to learn English. Do this so, we are able to communicate with people living in other countries and survive ourselves if we travel somewhere. On the other hand, it is not meant that local languages should be on lower level in our brain. Because we have to speak them unless we move to another country we do not have to use them. This means local languages is essential for our lives. Though if we were born in English atmosphere, their local language can be English. Anyway, local one is as important as English. In addition, I always feel that Japanese has particular glamorous addiction in the case of Japanese language. Like this, I reckon that any local languages have each attraction unlike, the global language, English. From these reasons, I can agree to some extent for the opinion that leaning English at school is often seen as more important than leaning local languages.