social media has replaced face to face interactions. advantages n disadvantages

What is the one thing you can’t live without? ‘My Phone’ answered a teenager. In the modern world, communication through social media has become quite dominant over face-to-face interactions due to advancements in technology and an increase in the number of social media platforms. Though social media provides numerous ways to connect with people, we shouldn't disregard its drawbacks. Today amidst the global pandemic, social media is indeed a boon. Social media platforms have become a great source of not only communication but also learning. Many introverted people can express themselves freely through social media. People can connect with friends and relatives who are living afar. Many sessions can be held virtually, where one can attend it as per the convenience of their location and time. But, every coin has two sides. Interactions through social media have a tremendous impact on physical communication skills. Analysis proves that most of the younger generation is addicted to social media, which causes discomfort to the eyes. Many people get into depression and anxiety due to insufficient fame or followers on social media. It is evident that numerous malpractices like morphing, hacking, scamming, stalking, etc. People are more likely to please their followers on social media rather than the company they have. For instance, if a group of friends is dining at a restaurant, each of them would upload a picture of their dinner on social media to please their followers rather than having a friendly conversation together. To sum up, what has been stated so far, I would like to propose that although social media is an outstanding source of interaction, its usage should have limitations. In conclusion, I would like to end by stating “When the phone was tied with a wire humans were free. Now, humans are tied with the phone and their minds are no more free. ”