Social media create negative impact on society

Social media have 3. 6 billion users, and this number is still increasing dues to availability in various languages and allowing users to connect with friends or people around the world. Nowadays, the importance of social media in communication can be seen through society's communication especially in communicating with each other, as well as share and obtain information. Some experts claim that social media enables the dissemination of unreliable information that can reduce the effectiveness of programs, campaigns, and initiatives aimed at the health awareness and well-being of society. However, social media is the best platform to share the latest information and news on public health, other than that; it also can increase a person’s quality of life by having a strong network. Opposing views claim that social media enables the spread of unreliable and false information. It is because, the applications like Facebook, WhatsApp Messenger, Twitter, and others allow its users to send and sharing messages easily without any hindrance. However, social media also allows for quick and easy dissemination of public health and safety information from reputable sources. Indeed, it helps librarians to disseminate complete and accurate Covid-19 information to society. The information that has been disseminated is consists of information on what is the virus, how the virus is spreading, and how to prevent the virus as suggested by the World Health Organization (WHO). According to Chukwuyere et al. (2020), to ensure that the information to be conveyed to society is accurate and up to date, the WHO has established close cooperation with social media organizations. Therefore, librarians should use the advantages of using social media platforms to share any information with society. Another claim made by the opposition that as widely known the use of social media can detrimental to well-being. Excessive use of social media can lead to addiction and in turn, can damage one's personality and mind. On the other hand, a person's quality of life can be improved by having a strong social network such as stay connected with friends, family, colleagues can make a person's life more meaningful. Most importantly, it helps teenagers build a better personality because it can often give teenagers a unique online environment to communicate with friends while being able to get the latest information. In fact, social media has the benefit to provide valuable opportunities for teenagers to develop skills. Ni et al. (2019) reported that the usage of online social media has a positive impact on a person’s life, especially in improving stability and self-identity formation. In conclusion, the latest news on public health information can be shared safely through social media which can be society's important reference, and other than that; having strong networking in social media that connected with family members and friends can improve a person’s quality of life. With the convenience and availability of social media, now the information can be shared with society especially during this pandemic Covid-19, and the relationships established on social media can improve a person's quality of life for a better life. Some people say that social media are used by irresponsible parties to spread fake news, however; it is also the best platform for disseminating information to society especially in sharing public health information. To overcome this problem, the dissemination of public health information on social media must be done only through WHO-recognized social media to guarantee that there is no fake information shared to society.