Smoking is banned in all public places. Agree or disagree.

Many people smoke despite the fact that it is harmful to their health. To date, smoking has been banned in many public places. But not all, there are still areas where people can smoke. Has the time come to prohibit smoking everywhere expect for private properties? I believe it has for two key reasons that smoking affects non-smokers and impacts the environment. Smokers not only destroy their own health but also the health of others around them. Breathing in second-hand cigarette, smoke also known as passive smoking has long been known to be devastating to non - smokers. While it is difficult to stop passive smoking from occurring inside smokers own homes, it can and should be stopped in public places. Implementing an outright ban on cigarette smoking in all sight seeing in one way to achieve this, which would improve everyone's health. In addition to health damage, smoking also impacts the environment in negative ways. Many cigarette smokers are unaware that their cigarette butts often ends up in landfill or worse the ocean. These discarded butts, which contain toxic materials are sometimes eaten by animals and fish or pollute the land as well as water in which they degrade. This is yet another reason why government should outlaw cigarette smoking in all public areas. The debate about whether to ban cigarette smoking in all public areas has gone on long enough. Because smoking endangers non-smokers and damages the vicinity, it is imperative that the higher authorities outlaws smoking in all areas outside of one's own home and does so immediately.