Smartphones are beneficial to students.

It is often debatable whether or not smartphones in the modern world is benificial to children or not. While some parents argue that cellphones should not be permitted to their offspring, I, on the other hand, completely disagree with this preconcived notion. I believe this for two reasons which I will examine in this essay. To begin with, the latest applications available on the gadgets has reshaped how we communicate with our loved ones. Evidently, the advancement of technology has changed the way people stay in contact. In particularly, people nowaday video call each other or send messages instead of letters as it was in early century. This helps to instantly connect with the other party without having to wait for eternity for their reply. My brother is a compelling example of this. When he was enrolled for classes in another city, my dad gifted him a brand new smartphone that had all the latest features and social media applications. Because of the distance it was difficult to travel every day and as a parent, my dad wanted to know about his whereabouts and his performace in the studies. So, he video calls everyday and talk for hours explaing how his day was. The conversation helps my dad to relax and not worry about him. I am sure if my dad would have not provided him smartphone, it would have been difficult to communicate because of the distance. Secondly, with the break-through of internet, the usage of smartphones have skyrocketed more than in the past. In particularly, smartphones provide access to a wide spectrum of information available in the internet. In fact, this helps children to broaden their horizon. This can be best exemplified by my personal experience. Recenty, I had to appear for an online exam. I was really worried as I had no idea of how it would be conducted. My daughter saw my nervousness and soon after some time she came up to me with details and past experience of the students by searching on the internet on her phone. As a result, reading people's experience helped me to calm my anxiety. If I had not provided smartphone to her and if should would have not been well wersed with the gadget, I am pretty sure that I would have dlunked in the exam. In conclusion, I am of opinion that a child should not be restricted from using smartphones and parents should support this idea. This is because smartphones help to stay in touch and communicate with our loved ones and because it helps children to stay updated with the latest information on the web.