Smart phones are considered by many an essential gadget for all, including children; however others disagree, highlighting the detrimental effects of mobile phones. In my opinion, a controlled usage not only can combat the deleterious side-effects but also be quite beneficial to children

On the one hand, some argue that mobile phones are a prime source of distraction offering many content from videos, games and apps to chats, that imparts no useful knowledge to children and thus affecting their academic performance in the long run. Moreover, smartphones expose children to a world of social media and they can easily become an easy target of paedophiles who use the internet to keep their identity hidden to lure the innocent ones. Lastly, mobile phones encourage a sedentary lifestyle as children refrain from engaging in physical activities, such as: swimming or football, leading to an increase in childhood obesity. Additionally, spending long time on such device can bring about other health hazards include eye strain and chronic fatigue that could be ultimately deleterious. On the other hand, others shed light on the associated benefits. Cellular phones can immensely help in regards to furthering youngsters’ education, as they have access to multiple innovative learning resources and e-books, that they probably cannot get in a traditional classroom. Furthermore, they can be a useful safety gadget, providing instant communication at all times, especially in periods of security crisis; bringing peace to parents in regards to the whereabouts of their kids. Finally, in my opinion, controlled, timed and supervised usage of cell phones can be advantageous to children as they will learn that healthy engagement can lead to them reaping the most benefits of this technology. Additionally, a child lock on certain websites set by the parents can keep their mind at ease from online predators. In conclusion, I strongly believe if the youngsters were to follow their parent’s strict guidelines, they are not at a detrimental risk from cell phones