Small shops in towns and villages are closing and are being replaced by big stores. Do you think it is a good or a bad trend? Explain your opinion.

Large businesses are replacing the traditional local stores in suburbs, this is mainly because of the effect of globalisation. This trend may have certain disadvantages for small shops, but the establishment of big supermarkets is a positive trend for the local population. To begin with, small stores are the part of a culture of a particular place, such stores are selling their merchandise from centuries and have also become a major part of local tradition. These shops offer convenience to their customers providing quick billing services and also let customers borrow products on loan. Besides, most of the owner of such shops are locals who are the sole breadwinner of their family. For instance, there are many rice shops in my village who are selling rice for many centuries and because of these large businesses they faced many financial losses. On the other hand, many chains of big stores are being set up by the people to sell their products to every nook and corner of the country, which not only assists in developing suburbs but also provides employment opportunities to the local communities. For example, superstores like Reliance-Mart have their branches in every part of the country, they not only provide a wide variety of products and services but also recruit the staff. Thus, in conclusion, even though the small stores are facing certain challenges while doing business in the presence of such large stores in the villages. The merits of establishing large stores are many, which will help in developing the economy of villages.