Some people think a university education is important for success while others disagree.

People are in split opinion about whether a university education is essential for a successful career. Some carry the viewpoint that university education sets the individual for success while others believe success does not relate to university education. This essay will discuss both narratives as well as my opinion comprehensively. It is widely believed that university education is inevitable for success. This is justifiably true since university education makes the individual go through a structured approach to learning that otherwise would not be feasible. An organized approach builds upon your fundamentals in a systemic way and prepares the individual well ahead for the challenges that may prompt in the early career. For example, a university even assists students in preparing professional resumes to facilitate job hunting. However, without school education, an individual has to rely either on self-learning or workplace training that usually does not centre upon building the fundamentals right, and hence, may set the individual for a failure or, in some cases, a slow success. While the above argument carries weight, not everyone feels positive about university education. They argue that university training does not induce practical skills among individuals, and rather instils theoretical knowledge only. Consequently, even when such knowledge can land a person a job, it would not set the individual for sustainable success. For instance, this owes to the fact that most employments rely on practical skills instead of book knowledge, which is all that our educational system provides. In my opinion, after weighing both the pros and cons, university education is necessary for success since it offers a systematic approach to learning and prepares the person for a safer career without having the person to rely on employer or self-learning. In conclusion, this essay discussed the arguments pertaining to whether a university education is compulsory for success, and, according to my perspective, it certainly is.