Some People Think That Strict Punishments For Driving Offences Are The Key To Reducing Traffic Accidents

It is often argued that on-road mishaps can be lowered by awarding stringent punishments to the offenders. While I do admit that strict punishments are certainly helpful but there are also other ways to avoid road mishaps. This essay will elucidate both views before recapitulating. Generally speaking, carelessness while driving a vehicle leads to lots of accidents. To make people more alert, hard punishments like heavy fines, suspension of license and even imprisonment become very necessary. This not only makes the lawbreaker realize the mistake but also acts as a deterrent for other drivers. At times, individuals, especially youngsters, do not take road safety rules seriously and may drive carelessly, drive under influence or jump the red light. Such violations lead to injuries and deaths. Hence, a number of traffic violations can be avoided if the wrongdoers / violators are given harsh punishments. However, punishment alone is not the option. There are several alternative ways to avoid the violation of traffic rules. Before issuance of driving license, strict examination especially practical should be there. Proper verification of all the documents age proof certificate is a must. Authorities must ensure that a person is mentally and physically capable of driving the vehicle before license is issued to them. Moreover, driving learning centres as well as awareness campaigns at regular intervals need to be the priority of the city council. Thus, there are innumerable ways in which this menace can be curbed. To conclude, although penalizing a traffic violator can be a good lesson other measures which can prevent the accidents should be primarily considered. Undoubtedly, prevention is better than cure and the safety of human life is of prime importance.