Smacking is the best method to discipline children.

The ideal way to discipline children has generated controversy over the years. Some school of thought suggest that smacking is the best way to correct behavioral problem in Children. This essay will explore reasons why corporal punishment is totally unacceptable, and also suggest alternative forms of disciplining young adults. Corporal punishment has been a traditional way of disciplining children. Advocates of this method of correction, drew their rationale from beliefs that adult have a right, if not a duty, to correct youngsters, as being promoted in religious gatherings and in the communities. Also, they argue that it produces instant response to indiscipline. For instance, a child that disobeyed the school rule can be flogged at the point rather than suspending or subjecting him to manual labor while class is going on. These few instances, convinced them that smacking is probably the best method to discipline a child. Unfortunately, the idea of corporal punishment being the best form of correcting behavioral problem in Children is misleading. Studies have shown that youngsters subjected to physical pain as a form of correction end up becoming violent and mentally retarded. Interestingly, there is no empirical data that project children who underwent this type of training as more successful or responsible than others. If there is no supportive evidence, of what importance is it, inflicting pain on youngsters? Having said that, disciplining children still remain a necessity, but instead of parents resorting to smacking as a form of doing that, they should act as a positive role model to their wards, considering that children learn by observing and imitating adults. Similarly, parents can also deny them access to a 'thing' they value as a form of punishment when they misbehave. To be exact, my mother seized my favorite doll when I fought my elder brother as a teenager, and as a result of this, I never repeated such act. To sum up, This essay discussed why smacking as a form of correcting youngsters is totally unacceptable, and as well suggested other measures that are likely to produce better result. In my opinion, corporal punishment should be outlawed, as it is detrimental to young adults.