Smacking children is the best way to discipline. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Slapping children is the most popular way to teach discipline. Children behaviour can be controlled in many ways but some people choose to punish them physically. This essay will argue that smacking children is completely unacceptable. On the one hand, there are many reasons why parents feel that smacking is the best form of discipline. Parents prevent them from doing bad behaviour by giving physical punishments. Unfortunately, smacking does not help with behavioural issues of children. Rather, it makes their problems worse. Studies have shown that children who grow up household where they are regularly subjected to smacking are more likely to grow as aggressive. Thus, they start to misbehave with the elderly. When parents spank their children, this, perhaps, will not bring the best outcome. On the other hand, while it is important to discipline children, behavioural problems need to be dealt with love and care. Instead of physical penalty parents should set an example for their children that is enjoyable and educative. For example, a toddler could be taught valuable lessons about etiquette and manners by letting them watch educative cartoons. If the first caregivers behave appropriately at all times as well as provide the toddlers with the opportunity to acquire effective lessons about behaviour through entertainment, children will gradually imitate what they are being introduced to, and which will solve the issue. To conclude, children are the future of our nation and must grow them with love and tolerance. In my opinion, spanking children must be forbidden, instead, they should be treated with fondness