Smacking children is the best form of discipline.

Physical punishment for children as a form of discipline has been practiced for many years. As a matter of fact, some parents believe that spanking is the best approach of teaching children a lesson. This essay will argue that hurting children physically as a best form of discipline is absolutely unacceptable and should not be tolerated. For some parents, spanking is an effective way of raising their kinds. During the time of our parents and grandparents, they were raised to believe that if you commit a mistake, there is a corresponding punishment for it. For example, based from the stories of my parents, they were usually smacked by a broom or hit by a belt whenever they were being naughty and stubborn. It wasn’t seen as a form of abuse, rather it is a form of discipline since children will never forget their wrongdoing and they were taught not to do it again if they do not want to be punished once more. Since it has been a common practice from one generation to another, it is thought to be effective as children from older era believed to grow up well. Although it was perceived as a form of discipline from older generation, hitting a child in the current era can never be the best form of discipline and must be totally stopped. Studies have shown that physical punishment only resulted trauma in a child mentally and emotionally. Furthermore, violence in any form is considered an abuse to any individual. For example, there is a research from a group of psychologists that shows many adults have developed insecurities and low self-confidence due to past trauma and unresolved issues from their childhood. This issue stemmed from the relationship with their parents as they were never able to properly communicate with them. As a result, they grew up fearing that their parents might punish them one way or another as adults. Moreover, adults who stayed in abusive relationships think that it is acceptable since they grew up being physically battered by their family. Therefore, these damaging effects due smacking or being hit physically can never be the best approach in raising a child. In conclusion, this essay argued that spanking is totally unacceptable form of discipline, neither can be the best method of raising a child. In my opinion, any form of physical abuse must never be tolerated as it causes tremendous stress and trauma both emotionally and mentally to a child once he or she becomes an adult.