Smacking children is the best form of discipline

Teaching discipline to children has always been challenging for elders. Some people still believe that smacking is very effective to raise children in a disciplined manner. This essay will argue that punishing children is not necessarily the best way to teach discipline. Smacking is an effective way of forcibly convincing the Children to behave well. Children tend to calibrate their behaviour based on how they were treated by elderly people for their actions, therefore, mild physical punishment often is the easiest and quickest way to control them. Besides, it creates a sense of fear in children to not violate the boundary conditions set by the caretakers. For example, when a child develops the habit of licking toys, parents smack them for the sake of the child's health, and eventually, the child will develop the muscle memory that it is a bad habit. Thus punishing the children for being mischief can be logical to a portion of population. Though mild punishments are effective to control children at the moment, it induces insecurities in children in long run and could completely affect their mental health. It is psychologically proven that there are many friendly alternatives to make minors understand. Many countries such as US and some European nations has put up legal boundaries to avoid any physical punishments to children and the elders in such places adapted to new innovative harmless methods and found tremendous success in their approach. Therefore, people needs to be educated of such lovingly options rather than being strict towards children in all situations. This writing has argued why smacking children is irrational to induce discipline. In my opinion, there is need for awareness of psychologically proven non-violent methods among people to control their children's behaviour and I believe physical punishments are completely unacceptable.