Smacking children is good to discipline a child.

All demographics of society follow certain practices to regulate children's behaviour. Many believe that corporal punishment is the best way to instill discipline in a child. This essay will argue why physical punishment is absolutely unacceptable towards ingraining ethical conduct in children, even when it has remained a conventional practice to curb children's non-moral behaviour. Some parents hold the opinion that the best way to discipline a child is through moderate striking. Foremost, parents are always cautious of the fact that their children can adopt bad influences from the society and, therefore, by inculcating fear of physical beating, they try to stop their kids from getting complicit in immoral acts. Moreover, linked to the previous, parents just follow the proven conventional approach of using force to establish obedience in a child, without much thinking. For example, various studies had shown that when parents turned to corporal punishment, the children rather stayed more obedient. This old age practice of raising kids can, thus, be justified by various parents since it has shown the desired results more often than not. Despite the above reasons, the idea of using physical power on children does more bad than good to children. Parents overlook the negative aspects of practicing aggressive behaviours on the children that would surface up later in the children's life. Children start to believe that it is completely fine to inflict physical pain on others to shape them the way they desire. This assumption can lead to giving them a hard time in maintaining relationships, since, in the later phase of life, they will prefer to resolve their matters through force rather than dialogue. For example, a significant proportion of divorces were resulted due to husbands being physically abusive towards their spouses, and this root down to the abusive environment they were raised in. Hence, parents should not overlook the long term impact of physical abuse to the children merely to develop discipline within them. This essay argued that striking children could have long-run negative implications on the children's lives, and for that reason, should never be considered acceptable even when it does discipline the child. I also strongly believe that the use of force does more harm to the child and that there are better and less repressive ways, which can rather be adopted to raise a good citizen of society.