since the primary measurement element

since the primary measurement element of colorimetric sensor array technology is chemo indicators, the overall performance of the sensor also depends on the chemical and physical properties of the printing substrate and the ink formulation. so as to create a more repeatable colorimetric sensor array, all components of the ink composition ought to not react with each other and the indicator properties need to be chemically compatible with the substrate. in addition, the substrate must provide extraordinary print quality in terms of spot uniformity, size, and consistency for greater repeatable sensor responses. more consistent spots can reduce noise because of change and print variation and efficaciously increase the signal-to-noise ratio, which is critical for low-signal intensities analytes. additionally, disposable colorimetric sensor arrays have to be comprised of cost-effective printing surfaces. To print the colorimetric sensor array, as mentioned earlier, various substrates were used, including silica gel plates, glass slides, cellulose-based membranes, polymeric microporous membranes, and so forth. consistent with a recent report on the effects of substrates and ink formulations on the performance of the colorimetric sensor array, the cellulose-based colorimetric sensor arrays had large incompatible spots that frequently overlapped with adjacent spots. Impermeable substrates, inclusive of glass or PET, led to small dense spots that had a much slower response time. Polymeric microporous membranes display superior performance among the studied substrates. especially, PVDF membranes are compatible with most ink formulations and offer the best overall sensor performance. unfortunately, PVDF membranes are not chemically well suited with ink formulations that require strong alkaline conditions. because of this, Patil and co-workers have developed nanoparticle-packed porous substrates with low-cost and high chemical resistance. these PFA polymer-coated substrates showed better chemical resistance to strong alkalis and had pretty uniform nanoporous structures that considerably improved the printability of a colorimetric sensor array. then 20 indicators which include various sets of chemically responsive dyes which have been sensitive to H₂S, NH₃, NO₂, and SO₂ printed on this PFA polymer-coated substrate were evaluated for the detection under their permissible exposure limits.