Since the beginning of twentieth century, child obesity has been increasing in many countries around the world. What problems are associated with this issue and what are some possible solutions?

Obesity in human beings is one of the most serious health issues facing the world today. There has been an unprecedented increase in number of overweight people in recent years, and this include children. This essay will outline the problem connected to obesity in children and present some solutions. One of the main problems associated with child obesity is that of the pressure that will be put on future healthcare provision. Obesity in childhood is likely to result in a variety of health issues in adulthood; many of which could be expensive to treat, such as heart problems. it could be argued that the cost of managing this high level of near future. One solution could be the introduction of legislation for unhealthy food products or at least changes to how food is marketed to children in order to prevent further rises in child obesity. Secondly, sustained levels of child obesity could have a significant effect on the future workforces on the world. Even though many professions nowadays revolve around technology and sedentary desk work there are still a significant amount of jobs which require a good level of physical fitness. Therefore schools should take far more responsibility in ensuring children receive a sufficient quantity of physical activity to counteract other bad habits which can contribute to obesity, such as long periods of time on the internet. Schools must also be encouraged to include sports and games in the school day as much as possible and also to provide healthy school meals. In conclusion, there are some serious problems connected to child obesity including those related to healthcare and employment. However, there are plenty of possible solutions which could be implemented to mitigate and improve the current situation.