Similarities between Vietnam and Japan

Not only location, size, government, climate but also the culture represented by each individuals are what generate to the difference of each country. It can be said that each country, every nation has different lifestyles, ways of thinking so that they have different cultures. Even though Vietnam and Japan are on the same continent, Vietnamese and Japanese cultures have unique features in their own way. Nevertheless, their cultures share many similarities since they were influenced by the Chinese dynasties. One of the characteristics that show the influence of Chinese culture on the two countries is Five Elements Theory which are wood, fire, earth, metal, and water. The five elements are believed to be the fundamental elements of everything in the universe between which interactions occur. Another important aspect of life making Japanese and Vietnaese cultures are alike is religion. Buddhism is the main religion in Vietnam & Japan. When spring comes, apart from travelling, Vietnamese people usually go on to pagodas at the beginning of Lunar New Year to pray for safety, health, good luck, prosperity and happiness during the year just as Japanese does. Eventually, spending time for family is another similarity between two cultures. Japanese and Vietnamese always put their family as their first priority. They focus on educating children between multi generation family. The unification of Vietnamese and Japanese family in Holidays is very important. In Vietnamese meal, dining on the floor with the whole extended family is considered a vital traditional activity of the day, which helps the entire family to bond and to grow stronger. In Japan, Bento, which is made from mothers' love, is the popular food and it's very meaningful that all Japanese mothers made for their children. All in all, inspite of being two distinct countries, there are various noteworthy similarities making them become well-balanced of “traditionally-modern” culture. It cannot be said that Japanese or Vietnamese culture is better because each culture has its own interesting and unique characteristics. Therefore, trying to live well to contribute to preserve values of cultural heritage, and building a vibrant cultural diversity are collective responsibility of the present generations to many generations to come.