Should women's sports be given the equal media coverage as men's sports

We are living in a society where women and men receive equality in almost every aspect of life. However, sport is still an aspect that causes numerous debatable issues about the equality between two genders. One of the major topics is the distribution of media coverage between male and female sports. While some people believe that both genders should share the same distribution, the other hold the view that male sports should be prioritised over women’s sports. In this essay, I would like to discuss both view before concluding my opinion. On the one hand, men’s and women’s sports should not be given equal media distribution for the benefits of revenue and popularity. As a matter of fact, sport is a male-dominated industry. Men’s sports have a higher revenue since they have higher skills and attract more media attention than women’s one. More viewers means more profits, advertising contracts and sponsorship investments for the TV channels broadcasting the shows. Take Vietnam’s football as an example, although men and women both joined the international competitions and become the representation of the country, the male team received exponentially more attention from the media and hit the headlines everytime they appear. Meanwhile, the figure for women’s watch was significantly lower. Giving men’s sports a higher prority is, therefore, a wise strategy to earn large profits and attract more investment. On the other hand, media coverage should not bias toward men’s sport in order for female athletes to receive equal opportunities. If men’s sports programmes continue to receive conspicuously more coverage than the programmes of the opposite sex, it might result in gender inequality, which is one of the most pressing issues these days. Furthermore, there has been a dramatic increase in the number of people who have interest in women’s sports in recent years. Hence, social media and newspaper coverage should focus more on this area so that female athletes can be given more opportunities, which is the foundation for the equality in the sport industry. In conclusion, The matter that whether women’s sport should receive the same media coverage or not is due to the aim of the producers. If they want to earn large revenue, they should focus on men’s sports; and if they want to promote gender equality, they should distribute equal attention for both male and female athletes.