It is suggested that media should give equal coverage time for both male and female sports.

There is a popular belief that men are better than women at sports which are activities that require great strength, flexibility, endurance and speed. People often prefer to see sports performed by male athletes rather than female counterparts. Therefore, it is undeniable that men’s shows and coverage of sports outnumber women’s. The question is whether TV and magazines should give the exact same amount of time for both male and female sports. On the one hand, an equal division of broadcast time of each gender’s sports contributes to achieving gender equality. More female sports events on the Internet, social media and TV may encourage people to pay more attention to women in sports careers. Consequently, female athletes may gain in popularity, which can improve their social status, payments and provide them with more opportunities for promotion. On the other hand, media companies rely on the revenue from the number of viewers to produce and maintain quality content. If there are more people watching a specific men’s sport, the media are likely to give priority to this sport over the other. The decisions are not made based on genders but on the tendency of viewers. In conclusion, although inequality between men’s and women’s sports still exist, it is impossible to force the media to give equal screening time to both genders’ sports. I personally think that society’s bias towards men and against women should be eliminated in order to ensure equality in sexes not only in sports but also in other fields.