Should wealthy nations be required to share their wealth with poorer nations by providing them with things such as food and education? Or is this the responsibility of the governments of poorer nations to look after their citizens?

It is true that many countries in the world faces different types of problems especially lack of food and education. Some people think that rich countries should support poor countries by providing adequate food and education, while others argue it is the government’s task to look after its citizens. In my view, wealthy nations should support the poor to some extent if there is a scarcity of natural resources and the infrastructure in the country. There is no doubt that the government is responsible for the well-being of its citizens. In many countries, the government is elected by its people so it is the responsibility of the government to provide the basic needs of the people. The government should define the plans to improve the welfare of the citizens. It should identify and use the natural resources to improve the economy of the country. Lack of planning will result in poor education and low standard of living. On the other hand, due to inadequate natural resources, some countries are unable to raise the standards on their own. Some countries are affected by severe droughts and water scarcity which make it difficult for people to lead normal lives. In these cases, wealthy nations should come forward to get people out of the difficulties. Government of poorer nation are unable to design the long-term plan because of lack of funds and scarcity of natural resources. Rather than helping financially, wealthy nations can send teaching materials for the education and trainers for improving infrastructure in long run. To conclude, rich countries should help the poorer nations only if the later lacks the natural resources to support their people. If they have good local resources then it should be the concerned government’s responsibility to improve the standard of living for its citizens.