Should we use cars or should we not

It goes without saying that the car has become an essential mode of transport both for commuting and leisure purposes. We have become dependent on it precisely because of its convenience. With no need to wait at cold bus stops or train stations, motorists can start their journey a few steps from their front door. However, this convenience has had serious consequences. As people have become more affluent, the number of cars on the road has increased year on year. As a result, traffic congestion has led to huge sums of money being spent on road building programmes, which in turn has had an impact on the natural environment. Moreover, despite the introduction of cleaner, lead-free fuel and the promise of electric cars, air quality in major cities continues to suffer from air pollution caused by toxic fumes from cars. Add to this the injuries and deaths caused by road traffic accidents, and it quickly becomes apparent that policy-makers need to address these negative consequences. There are steps governments could and should take to alleviate these problems. Firstly, public transport should be improved to such an extent that catching a bus or train becomes almost as convenient as travelling by car. Secondly, commuters should be encouraged to car-share with people who make the same journey. Fuel costs are a major drain on household incomes and motorists would hopefully appreciate the benefit of sharing these costs. Clearly, measures like these will not lead to a major decline in the use of the car but they may help us reduce the number of car journeys made.