• In some cities people can build and design homes and office buildings however they like. This is preferable to having strict controls over the design and construction of housing and office buildings.

People in several cities construct and customise their places of work and residence according to their preference. However, some criticise this tendency and argue in support of stringent regulation over these types of customised establishments. The benefits of implementing personal styles on one’s building might have significant value, though the setbacks regarding it, in my opinion, have eclipsed all its advantages. This essay will elucidate on it. On one hand, as the government gives an absolute authority to the owners to implement personalised architecture and design on their establishments, individuals use their own creativeness and innovations into it. This improves the aesthetic beauty of a locality. For instance, in an Italian city, Venice, residents have designed houses and hotels in bright colours, which look magnificent in the daylight and eventually attract innumerable tourists. Consequently, it would not only fetch revenue for the government, but also become a source of income for the people. Furthermore, it also reduces the burden of the government from allocating substantial amount of the budget on the construction of standardised commercial and residential places. On the other hand, unorganised constructions may lead to disastrous consequences in times of natural calamities such as an earthquake or a tsunami, to name a few. It does not only lead to massive destruction of property, but might also be life threatening for the inhabitants. Moreover, it would become difficult to provide relief facilities to people in need. To cite an example, in the year 2015 a number of unplanned cities in Nepal were ruined by an unforeseen strong earthquake that destroyed all the properties and took away many lives. In conclusion, I firmly opine that, although personalisation of homes and offices has been proven to be helpful for both, the government and the individual owners, certain intervention of government is required in disaster prone areas.